Our 2019/2020 Programme

We’re delighted to introduce you to our 2019/2020 Programme of art lectures, travel and social activities.

We’ve a culture packed calendar including: Our lectures will Travel to such places as: 18th century Venice with Vivaldi; Seville with Carmen; Cappadocia in Turkey to explore magical Cave Churches and Moorish Morocco to see it through the eyes of western artists.  We will Marvel at Leonardo’s hands, Dame Zaha Hadid’s cutting-edge architecture, and Monet’s gardens.  Our Travel and Day Trips include, after the April Extra Lecture on Charles Rennie Mackintosh, a 6 day trip to Scotland, centred around Glasgow and Edinburgh, and in November, a three day visit to Cádiz, El Puerto Santa Maria, Sanlúcar de Barrameda and Jerez .  Make sure you join us this season for an exhilarating, cultural journey that’s sociable, friendly and sure to inspire you.

October 2019

AGM

Tuesday 1 October at 11:30
Danish Club, Mijas
Annual General Meeting

October 2019

LECTURE
Mon 14 October 2019 at 16:30
Vivaldi in Venice
Lecturer: Peter Medhurst
Patron: Blevins Franks

TRAVEL/EXCURSION
23 & 24 October, 10:00 to 17:00
The Archaeology of Cinema:Survey of David Lean’s Aqaba in Almeria

November 2019

LECTURE
Mon 11 November 2019 at 16:30
The Hands of Leonardo
Lecturer: Guy Rooker
Patron: Villas in Mijas

EXTRA LECTURE
Tue 12 November 2019 at 10:30
Three Spanish Painters
Lecturer: Manni Coe

TRAVEL
19-21 November 2019
Trip to Cádiz, El Puerto de Santa Maria, Sanlúcar de Barrameda and Jerez

December 2019

LECTURE
Mon 9 December 2019 at 16:30
Carmen in Seville
Lecturer: Simon Rees
In Memory of John Leith

EVENT
Tue 5 December 2019
Christmas Lunch at Restaurante Valparaiso

January 2020

LECTURE
Mon 13 January 2020 at 16:30
Stolen Masterpieces: The Most Sensational Art Thefts in History
Lecturer: Shauna Isaac
Patron: A Friend of The Arts Society Costa del Sol

EXTRA LECTURE
Tue 14 January 2020 at 10:30
Moroccan Orientalism: Magic & Mystery in Moorish Morocco
Lecturer: Dr Helen Sijsling

 

February 2020

EVENT & MEMBERS’ FORUM
Date and details to be confirmed at a later date

LECTURE
Mon 10 February 2020 at 16:30
From Magic Lantern to MGM: The Birth of the Silver Screen and the Artists it Inspired
Lecturer: Geri Parlby
Patron: Blevins Franks

EXTRA LECTURE
Tue 11 February 2020 at 10:30
The Art of the Magical Cave Churches of Cappadocia in Turkey
Lecturer: Geri Parlby

March 2020

LECTURE
Mon 9 March 2020 at 16:30
Monet and his Gardens
Lecturer: Brian Healey
Patron: The English Dental Practice

EXTRA LECTURE
Tue 10 March 2020 at 10:30
From Russia with Love
Lecturer: Brian Healey

April 2020

LECTURE
Mon 6 April 2020 at 16:30
Dame Zaha Hadid
Lecturer: Anthea Streeter
Patron: Currencies Direct

EXTRA LECTURE
Tue 7 April 2020 at 10:30
Charles Rennie Mackintosh
Lecturer: Anthea Streeter

TRAVEL
Mon 20 April to Sat 25 April 2020
The History & Art of Glasgow & Edinburgh

May 2020

LECTURE
Mon 11 May 2020 at 16:30
The Guggenheims: A Dynasty of Art Collectors
Lecturer: Andrew Hopkins
Patron: Palomino Properties

EVENT
The National AGM of The Arts Society will, for the first time, be held in Europe and the Cervantes Theatre in Málaga has been chosen as the venue. For this reason there will not be the usual End of Season Dinner.  However, there will be three events to which Members are invited and for which you should keep these dates free.  When we have more information on timings, costs, etc., we shall advise further

Tuesday 12 May (time to be confirmed)
Reception in the Picasso Museum

Wednesday 13 May (time to be confirmed)
The National AGM of The Arts Society and Dinner at Patio de Beatas in Málaga